Press "Enter" to skip to content

Reviews

KR

Beautiful bay fishing –Unforgettable!

Captain Dave is a pro, and really knows his stuff. He knows the bay like the back of his hand. We were new to fishing like this, and he taught us as we went along, very relaxed, and informative. We asked lots of questions about the area, and he is knowledgeable. Capt. Dave also knows his fish. We caught several redfish (grilled it last night and it was delicious!). Capt. Dave was well prepared, flexible and safe. Upon returning to shore we had our fish cleaned and prepped for a few more dollars, totally worth it! The whole experience gave a a true "local" feeling and was a memorable way to spend the last day of 2016! Dave gave us a great recommendation about a place to celebrate New Years Eve --we had the best time! Thanks capt. Dave!!

   

K R January 12, 2017 January 7, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on January 12, 2017
Guys thank you, had a great afternoon. See you all soon!  

default image

Fish don’t care if it’s raining

My first time fishing in Texas, and it's worlds apart from what I am used to fishing in Florida - Captain Dave Edwards showed me some new techniques on how to catch big Reds and Specs. And we did - it rained most of the day but didn't bother the fish.

Drifting into the Reds is different but productive. Jig Popping for Specs. may not be my cup of tea, but it works. Captain Dave out fished me here about three to one, but I had a great time - even in the rain! Look him up the next time your in South Padre and want to fish.
Thanks Stephen C.

Stephen C Amesbury, Massachusetts February 15, 2017 January 17, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on February 15, 2017
Steve It was a pleasure spending the afternoon with you. Thank you so much and when you are back in Southern Texas please give me a call so we can get together.  

Kathi M

Captain Dave

We had a great time fishing for spotted trout and his prices are very reasonable! We will definitely use Captain Dave on our next visit to South Padre!

Kathi M January 19, 2017 January 17, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on January 19, 2017
Thank you. Can't forget little Stevie, had a blast fishing with you all!  

Jennifer Matclaf

6 hour trip with Captain Dave Edwards

The day was great, the fish weren’t biting, but Captain Dave found us some great fishing anyway. Give him a try you won’t regret it.

Jennifer Matclaf Houston, Texas January 31, 2017 January 30, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on January 31, 2017
Thank you for the great company. Enjoy the BBQ!  

primerib11

You should do this! Five of us on the trip and we all had a great time!!!!

Great day and all caught our limit on speckled trout. Top notch and worth every penny!! If I'm ever back here I will do this again!

primerib11 Rochelle, Illinois February 26, 2017

Matthew Musselman

Fishing with Dave

We had a great day with captain Dave. He was very helpful but not overbearing, he made sure we didn’t get stagnant in one spot and made sure we got into the good spots. We went out on a really windy day out of season and still caught several decent sized fish. We would go out again and would recommend him to those looking for a fun day fishing.

Matthew Musselman San Antonio, Texas May 23, 2017 May 17, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on May 23, 2017
Thank you Matthew! I enjoyed meeting and fishing with you both. See you soon.  

Jeremy Smith

Half day trip with Captain Dave

It was a slow fishing day, but Capt Dave kept us moving and made sure we filled our limits. We had a great time, and can’t wait to do it again!

Jeremy Smith Flatonia, Texas June 11, 2017 June 9, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on June 11, 2017
Thank you! You all did a great job.
Look forward to fishing with you soon. Capt. Dave  

Robert Gomez

Perfect experience

Captain Dave is very knowledgeable about the Laguna Madre and an excellent fisherman. He made sure we had a great time
Fished June 2017

Robert Gomez Brownsville, Texas June 12, 2017 June 10, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on June 12, 2017
Had a nice time with you and your father. You kicked some butt on those reds!
Capt. Dave  

Shane Taylor

Half day trip with Captain Dave Edwards 6-11-17

I am 50 took my 73 yr old mother and 10 year old nephew. Can’t say enough good things about how good Captain Dave treated everybody and took care of us all . We limited out on trout and still had time to catch a few big red fish to . Thanks Captain Dave for the great memories !

Shane Taylor Austin, Texas June 12, 2017 June 11, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on June 12, 2017
Enjoyed your company and thank you for the kind words. I look forward to seeing you all again.

Capt. Dave  

default image

Half day Trip with Capt. Dave

Had A Blast!

Capt. Dave got us on the fish and kept us there. He was a very patient man and extremely polite. We Will Be Back!

Robert Blackburn Carrollton, Texas June 24, 2017 June 20, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on June 24, 2017
Had a great time hooking up on the Reds with you guys. Hope to see you again soon!

Capt. Dave.  

Michael H

Capt. Dave provided a Great Fishing Experience for my Son!

Let me start off this review by saying my son has Muscular Dystrophy. He is not in a wheelchair but tires very quickly and balancing can be problematic.

This was the first time my son has been fishing. Capt. Dave was very patience and spent a lot of time helping him catch fish. We caught several speckle trout and made memories my son will never forget. I highly recommend booking time on Capt. Dave’s boat. We fished both ends of the bay and Capt. Dave made sure we found fish. I will definitely be back to South Padre and booking time on his boat will be on my list.

Michael H June 29, 2017 June 27, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on June 29, 2017
Thank you for the kind review. It was great helping and seeing your son hooking onto his first fish. Look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Capt. Dave  

Colinda Burns

Fishing with Dave

I booked a last minute trip on line for my wife and two of her coworkers while they were attending a conference in South Padre Island TX. I was excited to hear that they had caught their limit of speckled trout by 8:30 am. Not many days allow for a limit that quick. Thanks to Capt Dave for taking great care of my ladies and filling the ice chest before most people have digested their breakfast.

Colinda Burns Seguin, Texas June 28, 2017 June 28, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on June 28, 2017
What a wonderful day on the water it was. Beautiful weather and great company. Thank you so much ladies you did great!  

Margaret Rogers

Half day trip with Captain Dave!

None of us are experienced fishermen, so Captain Dave had to teach us all to fish. There were four of us, three were adult grandchildren. He was so patient and helpful, that we all learned to fish and we also caught our limit. Great guide and captain!

Margaret Rogers United States July 14, 2017 July 13, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on July 14, 2017
Thank you for the kind words, you all did a great job. I Hope you all come back and visit soon!  

Mark Kreipe

You can trust this man!

Capt. Dave is very experienced and a superb teacher. Booked 20 yr old son, 12 year old daughter and the old man (me). We had a fantastic time, and our freezer is stuffed with king and trout meat. You can catch fish with most anyone, but the experience of the entire trip is what counts. Captain Dave delivers, and does it with heart. Thanks again Dave. We’ll be back.

Mark Kreipe Kingsville, Texas July 17, 2017 July 15, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on July 17, 2017
Mark thank you very much! I enjoyed spending the morning with you and your wonderful Children. Living so close I hope you come and visit more often.  

Gordon Cooper

The Fish Whisperer

We had a great time on this fishing trip with Captain Dave! The weather conditions were less than favorable as the tide in the bay was low and, because of Hurricane Harvey’s influence a couple of hundred miles away, there was an in-flow of fresh water in the bay. These factors caused the fishing to start-off slow. However, kudos to Captain Dave (aka “The Fish Whisperer”) who worked relentlessly to give us a great day out on the water. His boat and fishing rigs are well equipped. We used fresh cut-bait and once the fish started biting, the sport of saltwater fishing was on!! When we thought we were finishing with fishing and headed back in to shore, Captain Dave spotted a pod of Red Fish, cut the engine back, circled the pod and what ensued was an action-packed, exhilarating 10 minutes of bringing in another beautiful Red Fish to add to our count! We are already looking forward to booking with Captain Dave the very next time we go out, which we hope is sooner than later!

Fished September 2017

Gordon Cooper Round Rock, Texas September 3, 2017 September 1, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on September 3, 2017
A very nice time with you and your wife. Being so close I hope you will be back this time for a little longer stay!
Capt. Dave  

Great half day trip with my son.

Dave’s guidance to my son gave my son bragging rights that he outfished dad, a well experienced fisherman. Limited on reds in a short period of time, then scored on a few trout.

Jack Daly Weslaco, Texas Wednesday, September 13, 2017 September 11, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Had a great time with the two of you.
Hope to see you back soon. Thank you! Capt. Dave  

Aaron H

Awesome Experience!!!

Capt. Dave was very patient and kept us on the fishing all day. Will definently be booking another trip with him.

Aaron H September 15, 2017 September 12, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on September 15, 2017
Thank you. Had an awesome time fishing with you and your wife. Come back soon. Capt. Dave  

GaryPAustex

Captain Dave Put Us on the Fish!

When we had to cancel our annual family trip to Port Aransas due to the destruction from hurricane Harvey, we rebooked a house in South Padre. Wishing to keep our plans for a bay fishing trip intact, we called Jim's pier, who put us in touch with Captain Dave Edwards.

My son and his 7-year-old and I met Dave at Jim's just before dawn and we headed out into Laguna Madre, in search of reds. On our first drift, my son landed one, which missed the slot on the small end and had to be released. We moved to a new drift and I caught a 23" red and a good speck. Captain Dave stayed with our 7-year-old the whole time, casting for him, coaching him, and assisting him as he wrestled in a 24" red after a long fight.

Throughout the morning, we kept changing our location, moving northward, until a couple of drifts in Peyton's Bay yielded a couple of more reds for each of us, leaving us one red short of the limit. By now, it was 12:15, past time to head back, especially considering how far north we had worked.

But Dave was determined that we would limit out, so we kept fishing until my son landed a red that measured out at 26-1/2 inches, just under the upper slot limit. We put it in the box and headed back to Jim's Pier, 50 minutes to the south, where we arrived around 1:45 in the afternoon.

We've had good guides and not-so-good guides, but we've never had a guide that was any more dedicated to delivering a great experience for his clients than Dave Edwards. Plus, his attention to a fishing-crazy 7-year-old was something that put him over the top in our book.

GaryPAustex Austin, Texas October 9, 2017 October 2, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on October 9, 2017
Thank you for such a nice review.I had a blast watching you three hooking up on all those reds. Little George kicked some butt out there. Please come back and visit soon!  

Ben P

Captain Dave Got it Done

My dad and my 7-year-old son and I went out with Capt. Dave in mid-September. My son is obsessed with fishing and was really excited to catch a big redfish. I've been out with a lot of guides, and many of them will just go to one spot and sit there for a long time, even if the fish aren't biting. But Dave kept moving us around, hunting the fish across the bay. And by the end of the day, we had caught our limit of nice big redfish, and my son even got to reel in 2 big ones himself. He was thrilled, and we all got to make a great memory and eat a big seafood dinner that night. The whole trip, Dave was patient, helpful, and easy to be around. He gave my son some tips, helped him out, and had him feeling great about the trip and his fishing skills. We highly recommend Capt. Dave, and we'll be back for sure.

Ben P October 9, 2017 October 2, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on October 9, 2017
Thank you much, I enjoyed our trip and am looking forward to fishing with you again soon!
Capt. Dave  

lmccrac569

Best Fishing With Islands Top Guide!

Awesome fishing! My husband and I booked a charter with Captain Dave several weeks ago. We drove in the boat for about 25 mins and stopped.

Capt. Dave explained the method we were going to use to catch the fish. Not being good at casting he casted for me. On my husbands 2nd cast he hooked into a oversized red and it didn't stop there. We caught over 14 redfish that day, releasing most of them. Capt. Dave came recommended from a man at the Convention and tourism center as one of the Islands top guides. Capt. Dave was very knowledgeable, and pleasant to be around. He does book up fast so book early if you can. A must do for anyone interested in catching BIG fighting ocean fish.
lmccrac569

lmccrac569 Libertyville, Illinois October 9, 2017 October 6, 2017

 

Dave Edwards (The Captain)

Replied to this review on October 9, 2017
Thank you for your comments. Please take me up on my offer for next year.
Happy fishing!  

ffany F

Caught some fish with Capt. Dave!!

My husband and I went in October. We weren't sure what we wanted to do. We decided to go fishing event though neither of us had really fished in the ocean before. We had a cold front come on the day before we went out, but it didn't stop the fish from biting. Capt. Dave put on right in a good spot for Redfish. In total we caught 8, but had to release some. What a fun fish to catch!! We tried for trout, but the water was cold and had a lot of seaweed due to the storm. Even with the small set back, the fishing was great. We had an awesome time. We will definitely be back! I highly recommend Capt Dave over the larger fishing charters, it was more of a personal experience and we loved the more one on one time for us non experienced fishermen. Go catch some fish!!

ffany F October 23, 2017